About Us


The Seattle Swing Dance Club (SSDC) was founded in 1965 as a nonprofit organization whose purpose is to preserve, perfect, progress, and promote the enjoyment of the West Coast style of swing dance.

SSDC Board of Directors
Executive Members
President Scot McKay president@seattlewcswing.org
Vice President Kevin Wright vicepresident@seattlewcswing.org
Treasurer Pat Garrett treasurer@seattlewcswing.org
Secretary Karen Villamarin secretary@seattlewcswing.org
Members at Large
Diane Lane diane@seattlewcswing.org
Greg Moravan greg@seattlewcswing.org
Kelli Hoffert kelli@seattlewcswing.org
Nick Nicholas nick@seattlewcswing.org
Raphael Mun raphael@seattlewcswing.org
Robb Bryan robb@seattlewcswing.org
Trula Schafer trula@seattlewcswing.org
Committees and Other Contacts:
Board (all Board members) Pres, VP, Sec, Treas,
and Members at Large
board@seattlewcswing.org
Competitions Commitee Lynn Gross,
Chair and Chief Judge
competitionscommittee@seattlewcswing.org
Dances Commitee Kelli Hoffert, Chair dancescommittee@seattlewcswing.org
Education Commitee Karen Villamarin, Chair educationcommittee@seattlewcswing.org
Website / IT Commitee Robb Bryan, Chair itc@seattlewcswing.org
Membership Commitee Trula Schafer, Chair membershipcommittee@seattlewcswing.org
Publicity /Marketing Commitee Diane Lane, Chair publicitycommittee@seattlewcswing.org
Convention Tickets conventiontickets@seattlewcswing.org
Newcomer’s Event newcomer@seattlewcswing.org
The Pulse (our newsletter) thepulse@seattlewcswing.org
Seattle’s Easter Swing – our annual dance convention
Event Director Jim Minty SESChair@seattlewcswing.com
SES website http://seattlewcswing.com/
Seattle Swing Dance Club By-Laws

Our club by-laws are available here

Additional Contact Information

You can contact the entire board by e-mailing board@seattlewcswing.org.

Mailing Address:  SSDC, PO Box 16759, Seattle, WA 98116

Board Meetings

Board meetings are usually held once a month, often on the third Sunday of the month prior to the dance at Alki Masonic Hall. Meeting times and location do vary so please check your most recent Pulse email for the current meeting time and location. SSDC members are encouraged to attend, observe and give input. Remember; this is YOUR club and the board is here to serve your needs.

Membership Associations

SSDC is a member of the National Fastdance Association.

Hall of Fame

The SSDC Board of Directors recognizes individuals who have made a lasting contribution to the Seattle West Coast Swing community.  A Seattle Swing Dance Club member may submit a nomination petition with signatures of at least 20% of the membership to the board. Members may be nominated posthumously.  The board must vote on any nominations.

There are no criteria for Hall of Fame members but is up to the board’s discretion to approve a nomination. The board must approve any nomination by a 2/3 majority vote.

Hall of Fame members receive lifetime membership status, including, but not limited to, complimentary yearly membership dues and complimentary admission to dances.

Current Hall of Fame Inductees are: Barbara Wettland, Abel Hewitt, Dean Fisher, Karen Johnston and Terry Lambert

If you have any questions or would like more information about the Hall of Fame, please contact the Membership chair at membershipcommittee@seattlewcswing.org.